News

June 6, 2017

Play Deformers Free June 8-11 on Steam, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One

ending

Hi, everyone!

We’re so excited to announce that from June 8-11 we’ll be kicking off a Free Weekend for Deformers so everyone has the chance to try out all the new features and changes we’ll be deploying from our “Deformers: ReFormed” update. Grab your friends and roll in to the action on Steam, PlayStation 4, or Xbox One!

During this event, Deformers’s full retinue of 44 Forms and 9 Arenas will be available for play in a variety of modes, including Free-for-All Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, Form Ball, and Custom games — Steam and PlayStation 4 players will also be able to check out Offline mode, which is a brand-new addition to Deformers. Everyone will also have the chance to level up, increase their Prestige rank, earn Silver and Strands, and unlock unique and lovable Forms plus all the different ways to customize them with Styles, Taunts, Tags, and Emotes in the Workshop.

Is it possible that this could get any more awesome?” Glad you asked and happy to answer: If you decide to purchase Deformers after enjoying it this weekend (by the way, it’s 50% off on the Steam and PlayStation stores from June 8-15, and in both online and retail GameStop stores for all platforms from June 9-15), you’ll get to keep ALL progress that you’ve made — just make sure to use the same Steam, PlayStation Network, or Xbox Live account that you played on during the event to pick up where you left off.

For more information on how you can join in the fun, keep on reading!


WHEN CAN I PLAY?

The Deformers Free Weekend will run from June 8-11. Windows PC users with a Steam account, PlayStation 4 players with a PlayStation Network account and PS Plus membership, and Xbox One owners with an Xbox Live Gold membership will be able to download and play Deformers for FREE during this period — no special keys or access codes needed! Please note that for PlayStation 4 players participating in the Free Weekend who don’t already own Deformers, an internet connection will be required to play.

The free period will begin on June 8 at 10:00 a.m. PT in all participating regions across all platforms. The free period ends on June 11 at 1:00 p.m. PT on Steam and at 11:59 p.m. PT for PlayStation and Xbox One players. If you’d like to see when the event will go live in your region, check out the list below to find your time zone. For additional time zone assistance, please visit this link for a countdown timer.

  • North & South America:
    • 7:00 AM HST on June 8
    • 10:00 AM PDT on June 8
    • 11:00 AM MDT on June 8
    • 12:00 PM CDT on June 8
    • 1:00 PM EDT on June 8
    • 2:00 PM BRT on June 8
  • Europe/Eurasia:
    • 5:00 PM UTC on June 8
    • 6:00 PM BST on June 8
    • 7:00 PM CEST on June 8
    • 8:00 PM MSK on June 8
  • Asia & Australia:
    • 10:30PM IST on June 8
    • 1:00AM SGT on June 9
    • 2:00AM KST on June 9
    • 3:00AM AEST on June 9
    • 5:00 AM NZDT on June 9

HOW DO I PLAY?

Before you roll in, you’ll first need to install Deformers on your chosen platform. The Deformers Free Weekend client will be available for download from June 8-11. To install and play, please follow the instructions below.

Windows PC:

1. Download and install the Steam desktop app, if you haven’t already, and launch it.

2. Create a free Steam account, or log in with an existing account.

3. Click the “Store” header, located on the top left of the Steam desktop app.

4. Use the Search and look up “Deformers” and select it from the list that appears.

5. Select “Play Game” to install the game client.

6. Once installed, double-click on “Deformers” in your Steam Library to boot it up!

 

PlayStation 4:

1. Turn on your PlayStation 4 and log in to your preferred local user.

2. Go to PlayStation Store and select “Search” from the top menu.

3. In the search field, type in “Deformers Demo“.

4. Select “Deformers Demo” from the search results and then click “Download“.

5. Once the download and installation process is complete, click “Start” to begin!

 

Xbox One:

1. Turn on your Xbox One and log in to your Xbox Live account.

2. Go to the Xbox One Store, then select “Search”.

3. In the search field, type in “Deformers“.

4. Select “Deformers” from the search results and then click “Free Trial“.

5. Once the download and installation process is complete, click “Launch” to begin!

 

FREE WEEKEND FAQ

Q. What content is available to play during the Free Weekend?
A. During the Free Weekend, Deformers’s full retinue of Forms and Arenas will be available for play in a variety of modes, including Free-for-All Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, Form Ball, and Custom games — Steam and Xbox One players will also be able to check out Offline mode (Free Weekend PlayStation 4 players will need an internet connection to play, but purchasing the game will lift this limitation). Everyone will also have the chance to level up, increase their Prestige rank, earn Silver and Strands, and unlock unique and lovable Forms plus all the different ways to customize them with Styles, Taunts, Tags, and Emotes in the Workshop.

Q. How many Forms are available in Deformers?
A. There are 44 Forms available to play in Deformers! Everyone will have 5 Forms available when they first boot up the game, and additional Forms can be unlocked with Strands in the Workshop.

Q. How many Arenas are available in Deformers?
A. There are 9 different Arenas available in Deformers in a variety of sizes!

  • Small Arenas: Battle Butte, Crazy Carousel, Panic Plateau
  • Medium Arenas: Arid Arches, Big Top
  • Large Arenas: Chaotic Caverns, Tipsy Tents, Prickly Peak
  • Form Ball Arena (only available when playing Form Ball)

Q. How many players does each game mode support?
A. All Game Modes support 8 players. Team Game Modes (such as Team Deathmatch and Form Ball) support 8 players in a 4v4 format — please note that at least 4 players are needed to start a team Game Mode. Free-For-All Deathmatch features 8 players fighting one another in a battle for supremacy.

Q. What different Game Modes are available in Deformers?
A. There are a variety of ways to play Deformers during the Free Weekend!

  • Free-For-All Deathmatch
  • Team Deathmatch
  • Form Ball
  • Custom Game

Players can also learn the ropes in our recently added Tutorials.

Q. What’s the approximate download size of the Free Weekend client?
A. The approximate download size on PC and console is 5.5GBs.

Q. Do I need Xbox Live Gold or PlayStation Plus membership to participate in the Free Weekend?
A. An Xbox Live Gold and PlayStation Plus membership is required to play online multiplayer. For Local Play, neither an Xbox Live Gold nor a PlayStation Plus membership is required. Please note that during the Free Weekend, PlayStation 4 users will need to be connected to the internet to play, even when in Local Play. Purchasing the game will lift this restriction.

Q. Do I need an internet connection to play Deformers during the Free Weekend?
A. You will need an internet connection in order to download the Deformers Free Weekend update and game client (for those who don’t already own Deformers). Once installed, Steam and Xbox One users can enjoy offline play. PlayStation 4 owners must have an internet connection to play during the Free Weekend, but after purchasing the game will be able to access the offline play.

Q. Can I pre-download the Deformers game client before the Free Weekend begins?
A. Everyone will be able to download the Free Weekend client on June 8 at 10:00 a.m. PT. Since the Free Weekend is also our “Deformers: ReFormed” game update, it’s not possible to allow a pre-installation of the game client without pushing the patch itself out early to those who already own Deformers.

Q. Do I need a special code or game key to play during the Free Weekend?
A: Nope! Just follow the installation instructions above and you should be all set to jump into the fun.

Q. Is Deformers going to be free forever once I download it?
A. Deformers will be playable during this time period only, or until the gametime timer has run out for Xbox One players. Once the event has concluded, you will need to purchase Deformers to continue enjoying it.

Q. In what regions is the Free Weekend available?
A. The Free Weekend will be offered in all regions where Deformers is supported by Steam, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. If your region’s store has Deformers, it’s also likely to have the Free Weekend available to try out!

Q. What languages are supported during Free Weekend?
A. The Free Weekend will be supported in 5 languages across all platforms: English, French, German, Italian, Castilian Spanish, and Brazilian Portuguese.

Q. Will my progress, unlocks, and purchases from the Free Weekend carry over if I play or buy Deformers later?
A. Yes. Any progression you earn, including levels and Prestige as well as Forms and other items you unlock from the Workshop or Strands that you’ve purchased or Silver you  may have earned, will carry over to the full game if you play or buy Deformers in the future — just be sure you play or purchase the game on the same account you played on during this free weekend.

Q. Is Deformers on sale during the Free Weekend?
A. Deformers will be 50% off on the Steam and PlayStation stores from June 8-15, and will also be 50% off on both online and retail GameStop stores for all platforms from June 9-15.

Q. Will Steam and console gamers be able to play together during the Free Weekend?
A: You bet they can! We just recently added cross-network play, so Steam and PlayStation 4 players can compete against one another and Steam and Xbox One players can do the same. In case you’re not down for some cross-network action, you can disable it in your Gameplay options.

Q. How long can I play Deformers for free?
A. This varies depending on platform. Steam and PlayStation 4 users will be able to play from the start time, June 8th at 10:00AM, to their respective end times.

Xbox One players will be granted 20 hours of gametime (this is time with the app open in an un-suspended state). If you’re on Xbox One, please make sure to either close or suspend the Deformers app when not in use to make the most of it. As long as you have gametime left, you will be able to play — even after the end of the event!

Q. Is there any planned maintenance during the Free Weekend?
A. No maintenance is currently planned for the Free Weekend. If this changes, we’ll be sharing more information on the Deformers official forums (make sure to check the Announcements for the latest info). For additional status updates, be sure to follow @DeformersGame on Twitter.

Q. What are the minimum system requirements to play on PC?
A.
Operating System: Windows 64-bit (7, 8.1, or 10)
GPU/Video Card: NVIDIA 640 or equivalent GPU
CPU: 2.8 GHz quad core (2 physical, 4 hyper) CPU
RAM: 8GB RAM
Network: Broadband Internet Connection (please note that satellite and/or mobile connections may not be fast enough for gameplay)
Hard Drive: 10GB available space


© 2017 Ready At Dawn Studios. De·Formers is a trademark of Ready At Dawn Studios LLC in the U.S. and/or other countries.
All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners. All rights reserved.